Bo Laksa King’s

From what I’ve been reading, there’s a Burmese fellow and his wife making some incredible food inside a Filipino grocery store on Joyce Street. Apparently, Bo Laksa King’s makes some amazing laksa and roti canai. After reading posts from the good folk at Chowtimes and 604Foodtography, I got there the first chance I could.

Bo’s occupies a small space at the front of the shop. They’ve only been open for about four months or so. Aside from the menu items shown, they roll out different specials on the weekend. This being my first visit, I had to go for the Laksa.

Laksa comes from the Sanskrit word Lakh which means ten thousand. This refers to the many different ingredients involved in making it. In this case, my bowl consisted of prawns, chunks of curried chicken, fish balls, tofu puffs, jalapeño slices, a hard-boiled egg, bean sprouts, lime, red onion, laksa leaf (Vietnamese Coriander) and noodles. You are given a choice of either vermicelli or the thicker, chewier Yellow Wheat Noodles. I went with the wheat noodles.

Because this is take-out, the soup is served separately. This is an amazing, perfectly balanced coconut milk-infused broth. The fresh flavor of the laksa leaf really stands out amongst the myriad of other flavors.

An absolutely delicious bowl of laksa. I would of liked a bit more heat but aside from that minor quibble, this is a damn good bowl.

The Roti Canai is a perfect accompaniment.

The roti was rolled out and grilled before my eyes. The curry chicken dipping sauce contained actual chunks of chicken. This is something I can see myself getting very addicted to.

Bo Laksa King’s is a very pleasant surprise. When I first heard about it I was a bit put off by its odd location. But as soon as I walked in and saw how well-maintained their little corner of the store was, I could sense great eats were afoot.

Rumor has it that they may expand if they can find the right spot. Here’s to hoping!


Bo Laksa King's on Urbanspoon

7 responses

  1. Ben

    Call me selfish! But I hope they don’t ever expand. More often than not, once a great joint like Bo’s expand, they will suffer a drop in quality and try to be everything to everyone. Glad you like Bo’s. This is one place I actually went back for a second round … something I don’t normally have the chance to do!
    Ben

    January 3, 2010 at 4:47 am

  2. Karl

    Wouldn’t it be great to have this fare served in a nice room? I’m pretty certain this couple is savvy enough to pull it off.

    Can’t wait to go back!

    January 3, 2010 at 8:34 am

  3. Marike

    I was there yesterday and tried the laksa and pork wrap. Both excellent! I think I was served by Mrs. Bo and she was very friendly, providing great service. She even let me try the laksa soup before I bought anything. At the rate they are gaining popularity, I think they will expand soon. Hopefully it will be somewhere with more people traffic and their quality and service won’t suffer.

    January 21, 2010 at 4:02 am

  4. Karl

    They really do put out incredible food. I only wish I knew Bo’s wife’s name. She really deserves a lot of credit. She’s friendly, helpful and makes a fantastic roti!

    Wherever they expand to will be full of happy and contented diners. From what I’ve seen so far, I can’t wait to see the full menu.

    January 21, 2010 at 7:42 am

  5. This place looks awesome… if only I didn’t live so far away *sigh*

    February 28, 2010 at 9:19 am

  6. grayelf

    Bo’s wife’s name is Tiffany, and she is awesome :-).

    March 6, 2010 at 4:50 pm

  7. Nikkie

    Let me correct you something here, the grocery store isn’t Filipino Store, it is also a Burmese Store.

    May 12, 2010 at 3:20 pm

Leave a comment