Kosher

Maple Grill

Recently, I was contacted by Sherman of Sherman’s Food Adventures wondering if anyone was up for Kosher food at The Maple Grill. Being naturally curious and never having been to an authentic Kosher restaurant, the answer was…of course!

Having only a cursory understanding of Kosher food, I sought out some insight on Wikipedia. What I discovered there was, to say the least, slightly weird. Only animals that chew their cud and have cloven hooves are Kosher. Therefore, no pork. Seafood has to have had fins and scales. Therefore, no shellfish or crustaceans. The Kosher rules at Maple Grill completely preclude dairy. No butter, milk or cheese. This is odd considering dairy from Kosher mammals is permissible. Looks like no bacon-wrapped oysters in Bearnaise tonight!

(more…)

Advertisements