Hawker’s Delight

Hawker’s Delight is a spot I’ve been meaning to visit for quite a while. It offers a mix of South-east Asian fare at dirt-cheap, rock-bottom prices. Not even the Asian food courts would offer Laksa at $5.25, Mee Goreng at $4.75 or meat skewers and spring rolls at 75 cents a piece. How can a restaurant stay afloat with price points so low? With a string of positive blog-posts…I had to find out for myself.

When I first saw their menu (below), I was dumb-founded. Several of my favorite Asian dishes hovering around the $5 mark? This is too good to be true.

Hawker’s Delight is a very basic, non-descript room. The front window is pulled away to allow a nice flow of cool air. It’s self-serve cutlery, napkins, water and tea. You walk up, place your order, sit down & pick it up when it’s ready. There’s a steady stream of customers at four in the afternoon…beginning to understand the “price-point” question now! If you’re consistently busy mid-afternoon you must be absolutely rocking at lunch and dinner. Question answered.

Let’s eat!

The Deep-Fried Vegetable Fritters are really good. Crunchy and full of flavour but swimming in too much sweet sauce making the bottom half soft. A small ramekin would’ve helped nicely.

A big seller on the menu here is the Satay. At 75 cents these meat skewers sell rather quickly. You are offered a choice of beef, chicken or pork and the minimum purchase is five. At 4 o’clock the only choice was pork.

At 75 cents a pop I’m not going to complain too loudly. But I will complain, somewhat. Texturally, these were weird. A bit too soft for pork. Maybe they were sitting in the marinade too long…I don’t know. They’re just a bit to mooshzy. The excess of peanut sauce didn’t help.

Sorry for the lack of focus but you get the idea…that’s a load of sauce. Really sweet, again. How hard is it to put dip in a small dish? How cheap do we need to be?

After scoping out the menu on-line, I decided on the Mee Rebus. Mee Rebus is a vegetarian dish consisting of egg noodles, a hard-boiled egg, fried shallots, spring onions, cilantro, sliced chilies and sambal in a slighty-sweet gravy with hits of dried shrimp, garlic and peanut. Very tasty, this was. Although, again, waaaaaaay too much sauce. Half the amount would’ve been plenty.

Guess I’m just going to have to put this down to “you get what you pay for”…sort of. All of this added up to eleven bucks with tip. Not quite the “value” I expected.

Hawker's Delight on Urbanspoon

6 responses

  1. LotusRapper

    Glad you made it to HD 🙂

    I think HD’s food is good value overall, but not all items are equal, as you noted. For me personally, the curried lamb on rice is the zinger. The skewers are ok, and for $0.75 I don’t gripe about them. Spring rolls can be avoided though, nothing earth-shattering there even if free.

    For me, HD is a funny contradiction. Sometimes I’m really in the mood to sit in that “hole-in-wall” environment, other times not so much, even though the appeal of their food remains the same. At any rate, they’ve obviously found their groove and have stuck to that winning formula. To me that’s a good thing to feel “delight”-ful about 🙂

    July 23, 2010 at 5:04 pm

  2. Karl

    Hi Lotus, over-all it was quite tasty and yes, there is value there. I guess my quibble was more with the excess saucing than price. Kinda weird that I’m bitching about too much of something from a “value” restaurant! Seems I’ve got to check out some other items…i.e. the laksa and definitely your lamb curry recommendation. Cheers!

    July 25, 2010 at 4:18 am

  3. Michelle

    Mee Rebus is always served with alot of sauce. the more, the better. Yummy.

    July 28, 2010 at 6:58 pm

  4. Karl

    Hi, Michelle! I guess it comes down to personal taste. The dish was very tasty. The amount of sauce seemed unnecessary…a bit of a waste. I’ll definitely try it again, though!

    July 28, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    • LotusRapper

      I’d ask for a bowl of plain rice and use up all that extra sauce !

      July 29, 2010 at 11:13 pm

  5. Karl

    Now THAT is a damn good plan!

    July 29, 2010 at 11:28 pm

Leave a Reply

