The One Restaurant

After reading Ben from Chowtimes post on The One Restaurant this past Wednesday, this week’s Friday lunch selection was a no-brainer.

The One is a spin-off of Lao Shan Dong. LSD is the king of Taiwanese Beef Noodle Soup in Burnaby. There are other TBN shops, but as far as I know, they’re the only ones who make their own hand-cut noodles. Green Bamboo has recently started serving hand-cut noodles in their House Special Beef Noodle Soup. Stay tuned for a Green Bamboo updated post! Their noodles are fantastic, by the way!

Whereas Lao Shan Dong is situated in a small, non-descript room, The One is the polar opposite. After entering through automatic sliding doors, you are greeted with a sleek, very modern decor. It’s not exactly what one expects in this part of Burnaby.

More often than not, when I enter a room this visually stunning, I naturally worry that the food is an afterthought. Knowing that the kitchen here is a by-product of Lao Shan Dong, I was giddy with anticipation.

The varied menu consists of most everything at LSD plus a wide variety of appetizers, hot pots, dumplings and three pages of drinks. You can check out the entire menu at their website. Anyway, enough with the preamble…..let’s eat!

To me, Salty Deep Fried Chicken Nuggets is a bit of an unfortunate moniker…a tad too obvious. It’s like calling French Fries “Deep Fried Potato Sticks”. Nevertheless, these kicked ass! Nicely seasoned (not salty at all), tender and without a bit of gristle. The fried basil an excellent accompaniment.

It is almost a guarantee that if there’s a beef roll on the menu, we’re going to order at least two plates. Today was no exception. The One Sliced Beef in Pancake was decent although a bit doughy. A few more seconds of grill time would’ve done these wonders.

The Dumplings in Spicy Sauce were a highlight dish. Eight delicious pork-filled dumplings smothered in an amazing chile-garlic sauce. This is crack to us chili heads. Simply phenomenal.

The left-over sauce goes nicely with this….

Many times when I went to LSD for their soup I’d get an order of Dry Noodles with Sesame Paste to take home. Although perfect as they are, a solid whack of sambal or sriracha brought them to another level. One of my favorite things.

Today, however, I have another favorite…

The Kung-Paw Chicken here is by far the best I’ve ever tasted. Moist chunks of thigh meat slathered in chili and garlic, tossed with peanuts, scallions and more chili. Quite hot yet not overwhelming. Exceptional.

A big highlight of The One’s menu is an extensive selection of Hot Pots. Being a brand new restaurant the burners are of great quality keeping the food bubbling nicely. We ordered two hot pots…Spicy Korean Kimchi Hot Pot and Thai Spicy Hot Pot. The Kimchi was my personal favourite of the two. A nice, rich broth and plenty of zesty kimchi and tender beef. The Thai Spicy Hot Pot had me scratching my head. I even asked a server if we had gotten Seafood Hot Pot by mistake. I’m still wondering what part of this was Thai. Whatever it was, it’s not my cup of tea. All the ingredients were quite fresh but the broth and dumplings had, to me, a strange seafood flavour I’m just not into. Nevertheless, both pots were hot and very plentiful.

With each order of Hot Pot you are given a small dessert and a beverage. The dessert was a Green Tea Jelly. Ben was lucky enough to get Iced Plum Juice for his drink. I got a glass of Coke.

All in all, this was a fantastic feast. Everyone left darn well stuffed and in agreement about the value of the meal. It’s great to have yet another solid lunch location on the roster. I look forward to many, many return visits.


The One Restaurant on Urbanspoon

3 responses

  1. Ben

    So you like it huh Karl? I had really high expectations since it carries the reputation of LSD. I found it … errr … “average good” if you know what I mean. LOL! It was good but I expected it to be head and shoulder above the other similar Taiwanese restaurants.

    Anyway, see you tomorrow at Chill! I did not tell Flora we are coming.

    March 15, 2010 at 6:02 am

  2. Karl

    Aside from the odd Thai Hot Pot, I thoroughly enjoyed the meal. I’ll give it “above average”! Hopefully you can join us the next time we visit New Age. I think you’ll like it!

    See you at Chill!

    March 15, 2010 at 6:23 am

  3. Pingback: Lao Shan Dong « …The Friday Lunch…

Leave a Reply

