Tony’s Beef Noodle

This is a post I’ve had on the back-burner for quite awhile now (since last October, actually). I’d read nothing but exemplary reviews of Tony’s Beef Noodle and was left scratching my head wondering what I’d missed. My experience of Taiwanese Beef Noodle soup is limited to Lao Shan Dong and No. 1 Beef Noodle House…both outstanding bowls. The TBN I had at Tony’s Beef Noodle didn’t even come close.

For an appetizer, I got a bowl of Wontons in Chili Sauce.

Not quite what I’d expected. The dumplings, themselves, are very good. It’s just that sauce wasn’t exactly “chili sauce”. It was more of a sweetened soy. Not exactly bland but nowhere near enough chili. But, hey, that’s just my taste.

On to the soup…

Beef Noodle in Spicy Soup. As I said, I’m no expert when it comes to Taiwanese Beef Noodle soup. My critique is based solely on comparisons with LSD and No. 1 BNH. The hand-cut noodles were fairly good…a bit thick and bit too chewy. The beef was also good but some of it was on the gristly side. My main complaint is with the broth. It seems they simply took the regular, non-spicy stock and tossed in a scoop of chili oil. The final product simply lacked the depth of flavour I’d expected.

While checking out some other opinions about Tony’s, I came across Ben from Chowtimes’ review from December 2009. When I saw his photo of the same bowl of soup, I realized a direct comparison was in order.

That is a world of difference. It’s pretty obvious that the extra care and depth of flavour in Ben’s bowl is what everyone is raving about. Looks like it’s time for a re-visit!

Tony's Beef Noodle on Urbanspoon

2 responses

  1. Ben

    Hah! They both do look different. Kind of strange and is rather uncharacteristic of Tony’s to be so inconsistent. *shrug*

    February 17, 2010 at 1:29 am

  2. Karl

    Oh, well. It seems my timing was a little off…by about two months! There’s another hand-pulled noodle spot that looks worth checking out…Golden Fortune on Joyce across from Bo Laksa. I’ve been by about four times (usually Sunday, Monday), but they were always closed. Gonna keep trying!

    February 17, 2010 at 2:16 am

Leave a Reply

