Mỹ Châu

As you may have noticed, I’m on a permanent hunt for all varieties of Asian soup. One version I had yet to try is Phở Gà (Vietnamese chicken noodle soup). Most versions of Phở gà incorporate pieces of cooked chicken right into the soup. At Mỹ Châu they serve a chopped, crispy chicken leg alongside your soup.

The chicken pieces were very crispy and quite dry. I guess that’s so they hold up when they hit the soup. You have to deal with a bunch of little bones and not a whole lot of meat.  I think I would of preferred the thigh.

Regardless of my nit-picking of the chicken, the soup consisted of a very tasty, clear broth and perfectly cooked rice noodles. Once the chicken absorbed the soup and took on the various flavors it turned into an excellent bowl. Phở gà is a great, lighter alternative to the traditional beef phở.

The Gỏi Cuốn (Vietnamese Salad Rolls) were pretty much perfect. The prawns and rice wraps were extremely fresh, the cucumber & carrot had great crunch, the vermicelli just right. The Nước Lèo (peanut sauce) was a nice balance of sweet and savory…the perfect accompaniment.

Mỹ Châu is a very clean restaurant. When I entered through the back door I was struck by how clean the hallway and floors were…not exactly what I’d expected. Usually the back entryway is a jumble of stock and items about to be garbaged. Here it felt like I was entering a new condo. I guess I was thrown off by the filthy awning. Hopefully it’s next on the reno list.

Although it’s a bit of a drive, Mỹ Châu is definitely worth many return trips. The eight-page menu is full of enticing selections.

My Chau on Urbanspoon

2 responses

  1. iamonlyhereforthefood

    I have been meaning to try this place; however, the problem is their hours. If memory serves me right, they are closed by 6:00 p.m.! Thanks for letting us know what goodies they have.

    December 14, 2009 at 5:10 am

  2. Karl

    No problem! My “meaning to try this place” list is on its third page…and that’s just the Asian food one!

    December 14, 2009 at 11:56 pm

Leave a Reply

