Garlic & Chili Restaurant

A few months back I heard about a good Chinese restaurant in Burnaby. Lunch plans were made. We anticipated deliciousness. To our surprise, a new restaurant had replaced it. The sign read Garlic & Chili. Jacky the Macanese Chilehead tells me its Szechuan. This has to be a good thing.

Turns out, after many, many visits, to have been a great thing.

DSCN1396

The obligatory Hot & Sour Soup. Really well made…some good punch.

DSCN1392

The Spicy Chile & Garlic Wontons. Tender pork dumplings drenched in goodness.

Save the sauce for the Shanghai Noodles:

DSCN1403

DSCN1400

The Ginger Beef is tasty but quite a bit overdone.

Singing Chicken

The centerpiece of the meal is the Singing Chicken Hot Pot. The dish was literally spitting when it hit the table. Some serious wok hay.

DSCN1406

Singapore Fried Noodles. Some more good heat but with a curry hit.

Mongolian Beef

The Mongolian Beef.

So far, Garlic & Chili has remained a bit of a secret. It’s a spotless, tiny Mom & Pop operation with exceptional food. The portions are generous and the chef is a serious heat-freak. Giggity.

DSCN1409

DSCN1410

Garlic & Chili Restaurant on Urbanspoon

5 responses

  1. Hi Karl, I’ve been following your blog for a while and love what you have to post. Am I safe in assuming that you’re also a left-handed foodie living / working in the same area? (Or am I complete douche now?) Anyways, thank you for posting about Garlic & Chili, I look forward to reading more of your blog!

    January 31, 2010 at 3:39 pm

  2. Karl

    Hi Jessica, thanks for your kind message. Figuring out I’m a leftie is somewhat eerie! Not douchie in the slightest, just freakily perceptive! I noticed you went next door to Bentei…have you tried G&C? The Szechuan Beef Noodle Soup is a must. The chef even once prepared a special lunch for six, Szechuan-style. I managed to talk Sherman into visiting. It’s my go-to lunch spot and a big favorite of my co-workers.

    Loved your post on Shoryumen. Looks like a very unique venue, definitely worth a visit.

    February 1, 2010 at 2:53 am

  3. Well, I am a leftie and noticed that in one of the photos, the chopsticks were coming from the left. (I had noticed it in my own photos and contemplated flipping it. haha!)

    I may get a chance to do takeout G&C tonight. Will do a short post if I get to it!

    BTW, in the same strip mall, Kam Moon Bakery (Golden Door / Gate?) has nice frozen offerings. Their meat buns are average (to be nice), but their egg tarts are a nice find for the area.

    February 2, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    • Karl

      Hey Jessica, I went there for lunch today (it’s usually once or twice a week). Had the Szechuan Beef Noodle Soup. I order it very spicy so it’s absolutely loaded with flavour! Cannot get enough. Might have to do a re-post just for the soup!

      Heard good things about the bakery from co-workers. Definitely worth a visit.

      I’m trying to get together a bunch of folks for Beef 7 Ways at Song Huong next Monday. Sherman’s in, waiting to hear from Kim. Are you interested?

      February 3, 2010 at 12:39 am

  4. vivian

    I had the curry beef fried bun from Kam Moon, it was to die for. I went back 3 times in a week to get it.

    February 23, 2010 at 9:36 pm

Leave a Reply

